Fear.. Do you understand it? (a reaction to John Maxwell’s blog)

January 13, 2011 at 2:26 pm (Life)

I have lived my life with fears. Most of them hindered me from what I want to do or, worse, what I’m supposed to do. I’ve always been on one side of the railroad track, quietly watching trains pass by… too afraid to find a path where you can ride  aboard, taking me to places I want to go or places I ought to discover.  While contemplating on how to overcome this fear, I’ve come to realize, I don’t really understand what it is. Moreover, I don’t think I understand MYSELF…

Coming across John Maxwell’s post about fear and what it does to you (or what you let fear do to you), I’ve come to realize that the only thing I fear is fear itself, just as what was stated by Franklin Delano Roosevelt.

Usually, when I encounter things I’m afraid of or moments that I would, at all costs, avoid all my life, I let fear sink in and succumb to the recesses of fears and absolute failures. Thinking about these fears makes me afraid to take a step back for going back to the past may haunt my future and if I take a step forward, there’s no turning back. But only then will I realize that if  I don’t take risks and overcome my fears, I’d stay exactly where I am… useless.

John Maxwell emphasized the importance of knowing how to turn your fears into an endless queues of possibilities without wallowing about the repercussion of  that decision. Here are some of his tips for controlling our fears

  • Discover the foundation of fear
  • Admit your fears
  • Accept fear as the price of progress
  • Develop a burning desire to overcome fear
  • Focus on what you can control
  • Focus on today
  • Put some wins under your belt
  • DO IT NOW
After reading this, I gradually let go of these fears and had a tighter grip on what I want to do in life.
If you wish to read this very inspiring post, go to :
http://johnmaxwellonleadership.com/
– No Fear 🙂 –
3 Comments

  1. anneaurelio said,

    deep! it’s simlpe yet so wonderful! i hope you’ll continue to inspire people with the blogs you write. i really learned a lot. 😀

  2. JR said,

    Another simple yet inspiring blog. Fear is what makes up an individual, if he/she conquers it, success is on his/her way. Keep on blogging, it is what makes an individual’s mind. 🙂

  3. teacher vince said,

    very good blog post…congratulations…keep on blogging.

Leave a Reply

